MCV Announces Delegation Scores from LCV’s 2015 National Environmental Scorecard

2015 LCV ScorecardMISSOULA, MT – Montana Conservation Voters (MCV) unveiled scores for the Montana congressional delegation released this morning as part of the League of Conservation Voters (LCV) 2015 National Environmental Scorecard. The Scorecard includes the most votes ever scored and reveals the most anti-conservation Congress in our history. The Scorecard is available at

“Once again, too many members of Congress were complicit in attacks on both bedrock environmental laws and more recent progress to protect our air, water, public lands and wildlife,” said MCV Board Chair Juanita Vero of Greenough. “Despite last year being the hottest year on record, members like Representative Zinke and Senator Daines put polluters’ agenda ahead of the health of Montanans and protecting our outdoor heritage. Fortunately, members like Senator Tester consistently stood up to these radical attacks and stood up for commonsense Montana values.”

The 2015 Scorecard includes votes cast during the first session of the 114th Congress. Both chambers left no conservation issue untouched in 2015, with assaults on the Clean Air Act, the Clean Water Act, the National Environmental Policy Act, the Endangered Species Act, and the Antiquities Act. It includes 35 House votes, which ties the record for the most votes scored in the House for the fourth time in five years, and 25 votes in the Senate, the second highest number ever included.

In Montana, Senator Jon Tester (D-Big Sandy) earned a score of 84 percent on the 2015 Scorecard, while Representative Ryan Zinke (R-Whitefish) scored a 3 percent and Senator Steve Daines (R-Bozeman) earned an abysmal score of 0 percent. Senator Tester’s lifetime score average is 86 percent while Senator Daines’ average is 1 percent. This was Representative Zinke’s first year and first score by LCV.

For over 40 years, the National Environmental Scorecard issued by LCV has been the nationally accepted yardstick used to rate members of Congress on environmental, public health, and energy issues. For more information, visit